Kiến thức

Michigan Legislature-Section 211.10d

Bạn đang xem: Michigan Legislature-Section 211.10d

Main Content

Section 211.10d

THE GENERAL PROPERTY TAX ACT (EXCERPT)
Act 206 of 1893

211.10d Annual assessment by certified assessor; training or test; establishment and supervision of school of assessment practices; examination; conditional 6-month certification; certification upon completion of qualifications; assessment if certified assessor unavailable; cost of preparing rolls; certification of assessment roll; cost of training; misdemeanor; rules; certification of director of county tax or equalization department; conditional extensions; vacancy.

Sec. 10d.

  (1) The annual assessment of property shall be made by an assessor who has been certified as qualified by the state tax commission as having successfully completed training in a school of assessment practices or by the passage of a test approved by the state tax commission and conducted by the state tax commission or an agency approved by the state tax commission that will enable the individual to properly discharge the functions of the office. The school shall be established by an approved educational institution in conjunction with the state tax commission and be supervised by the state tax commission and its agents and employees. The state tax commission may determine that a director of a county tax or equalization department or an assessor who has not received the training possesses the necessary qualifications for performing the functions of the office by the passage of an approved examination.
  (2) The state tax commission may also grant a conditional 6-month certification to a newly elected assessing officer or an assessing officer appointed to fill an unexpired term if all of the following criteria are met:
  (a) The newly elected or appointed assessing officer applies for certification and pays the required filing fee.
  (b) The governing body of the assessing district requests the state tax commission to conditionally certify the newly elected or appointed assessing officer.
  (c) The newly elected or appointed assessing officer or the governing body of the assessing district submits a statement outlining the course of training he or she plans to pursue.
  (d) The period of time for which the conditional certification is requested does not exceed 6 months after the date that he or she assumes office.
  (3) Conditional certification under subsection (2) shall not be granted for any assessing district more than once in 4 years.
  (4) Conditional certification under subsection (2) shall only be granted to a newly elected or appointed assessing officer in an assessing district that does not exceed a total state equalized valuation of $125,000,000.00.
  (5) Upon presentation of evidence of the successful completion of the qualifications, the assessor shall be certified as qualified by the state tax commission.
  (6) An assessing district that does not have an assessor qualified by certification of the state tax commission may employ an assessor so qualified. If an assessing district does not have an assessor qualified by certification of the state tax commission, and has not employed a certified assessor, the assessment shall be made by the county tax or equalization department or the state tax commission and the cost of preparing the rolls shall be charged to the assessing district.
  (7) Every lawful assessment roll shall have a certificate attached signed by the certified assessor who prepared or supervised the preparation of the roll. A village that is located in more than 1 assessing district may, in a form and manner prescribed by the state tax commission, request state tax commission approval that the assessment of property within the village be combined with the assessment of property in 1 of those assessing districts. A certificate attached to an assessment roll pursuant to this subsection shall be in the form prescribed by the state tax commission. If after completing the assessment roll the certified assessor for the assessing district dies or otherwise becomes incapable of certifying the assessment roll, the director of the county tax or equalization department or the state tax commission shall certify the completed assessment roll at no cost to the assessing district.
  (8) The assessing district shall assume the cost of training, if a certification is awarded, to the extent of course fees and recognized travel expenditures.
  (9) An assessor who certifies an assessment roll over which he or she did not have direct supervision is guilty of a misdemeanor.
  (10) The state tax commission shall promulgate rules for the issuance or revocation of certification.
  (11) The director of a county tax or equalization department required by section 34 of this act shall be certified by the state tax commission at the level determined to be necessary by the state tax commission before being appointed by the county board of commissioners pursuant to section 34 or before performing or, after March 29, 1985, continuing to perform, the functions of the director of a county tax or equalization department. The state tax commission may grant a conditional extension of 12 months to an individual who is serving as the director of a county tax or equalization department on March 29, 1985 if all of the following conditions are satisfied:
  (a) At the time of applying for certification the individual is currently certified at not less than 1 level below the level required by the state tax commission for that county.
  (b) The individual applies for certification and pays the required fee.
  (c) The county board of commissioners requests the state tax commission to grant the extension.
  (d) The individual submits a statement to the state tax commission outlining the course of study he or she intends to pursue to obtain certification.
  (12) The state tax commission may grant an additional 6-month extension to the conditional extension described in subsection (11) if the extension is requested by the county board of commissioners and the applicant demonstrates satisfactory progress in the course of study outlined to the state tax commission under subsection (11). In a county in which a vacancy has been created in the position of director of a county tax or equalization department and in which the position was previously filled by an individual certified at the level required by the state tax commission pursuant to this subsection, an individual certified at 1 level below the level required by the state tax commission pursuant to this subsection may serve in the position for 12 months after the vacancy has been created.

History: Add. 1969, Act 203, Eff. Mar. 20, 1970 ;– Am. 1972, Act 243, Imd. Eff. Aug. 3, 1972 ;– Am. 1979, Act 205, Imd. Eff. Jan. 8, 1980 ;– Am. 1980, Act 456, Imd. Eff. Jan. 15, 1981 ;– Am. 1984, Act 19, Eff. Mar. 29, 1985 ;– Am. 2018, Act 660, Imd. Eff. Dec. 28, 2018
Compiler’s Notes: Enacting section 1 of Act 660 of 2018 provides:”Enacting section 1. It is the intent of the legislature to appropriate sufficient money to address start-up and training costs associated with this amendatory act, including, but not limited to, necessary costs incurred to train board of review members, increase the number of assessors qualified to serve as assessors of record, facilitate initial designated assessor designations, respond to assessor requests for technical assistance, enhance staff and programming within the state tax commission to improve technical support for assessors of record, and transition some assessment services to designated assessors.”
Popular Name: Act 206
Admin Rule: R 211.401 et seq. of the Michigan Administrative Code.



up icon

Chuyên mục: Kiến thức

Related Articles

Trả lời

Email của bạn sẽ không được hiển thị công khai. Các trường bắt buộc được đánh dấu *

Check Also
Close
Back to top button